The University of New Mexico has been continuously accredited through the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) of the North Central Association since 1922.

View the Accreditation Archives. 

  • UNM
  • >Home
  • >Criteria for Accreditation

Criteria for Accreditation

New accreditation criteria were adopted by the HLC in 2012 and were fully implemented in January 2013. The five accreditation criteria include:

Criterion One - Mission

The institution’s mission is clear and articulated publicly; it guides the institution’s operations.

Criterion Two - Integrity:  Ethical and Responsible Conduct

The institution acts with integrity; its conduct is ethical and responsible.

Criterion Three - Teaching and Learning:  Quality, Resources, and Support

The institution provides high quality education, wherever and however its offering are delivered. 

Criterion Four -Teaching and Learning:  Evaluation and Improvement

The institution demonstrates responsibility for the quality of its educational programs, learning environments, and support services, and it evaluates their effectiveness for student learning through processes designed to promote continuous improvement.

Criterion Five - Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

The institution’s resources, structures, and processes are sufficient to fulfill its mission, improve the quality of its educational offerings, and to respond to future challenges and opportunities